Change in Lifestyle

I have been busy making plans and acting on them as required in the last few weeks.

As many of you know – I tried to retire 2 years ago and failed.  The problem was that bills kept coming in, but my pension money wasn’t enough to cover them.  😦  So, I went back to work, but just part time.

Things have not changed and it was looking bleak that I would ever get to retire and not work.

My only asset was my house, but I was determined to stay here as long as I have  Chester, since this is his home.  Chester is now 13 and is still going strong.  The idea of working yet another 2 years was just not something that I wanted to do, so I decided that both Chester and I can and will adapt to apartment living.

First plan was to find a place where I could take Chester.  Most apartments that will take dogs want small dogs.  The restrictions vary between the number of inches tall and the number of pounds – but Chester at 50 lbs was just too big to be considered.  I thought that telling them that he was a senior might let them make an exception, but that didn’t work.

Finally I found a place that did not have limitation on size or weight, but they had specific breed bans.  I don’t agree with all the breeds that they have banned, but Irish Setters are not on the list – so we now have a new home.  Or, at least we will have a new home on June 1st.  The apartment is exactly what I wanted and the property is near a river – not the Red River, but the Seine River and there is a beautiful walk through some bush (on a path) to get there.  I am looking forward to letting Chester explore our new area.  Here are some pictures taken when I walked there on the day I went to see the apartment.

IMG_0116IMG_0117IMG_0118IMG_0119IMG_0120

Next to do is sell the house and that will be started this afternoon when my realtor comes over to help me through this process.  Then I’ll be packing – but I will try to keep in touch a bit better than I have been lately.

4 thoughts on “Change in Lifestyle

  1. Good luck with your move. Those walks look so very beautiful – all a dog and dog lover need.
    Like yourself I await my solicitor to contact re the signing maybe in 2 weeks. We’ve been packing like mad and only bare essential stuff now. Have you a garden or somewhere for a few pot plants?
    Its taken me a while to sort my garden out but now it’s ready. Guess things are a bit easier over there for selling and buying. Hugs and nose rubs to Chester and love to you. Mary and Benji x x x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your comment Mary. Maybe we will be moving at the same time. I won’t have access to any garden area, but I do have my private balcony where I can have some planters. I am hoping I can sell the house quickly or I will be paying for both, which is certainly not ideal and will eat up my profits from the house much too quickly.

      Like

  2. Good luck, Mavis. I am hoping to sell my place and move to an apt in about 3 years. I, too, hate shoveling and all yard work really. A balcony is all I need! Does this mean you will be quitting the part time job?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.